Music News

NEW YORK, NY - SEPTEMBER 16: Nicki Minaj performs onstage during the Meadows Music and Arts Festival - Day 2 at Citi Field on September 16, 2017 in New York City.

Nicki Minaj has released her newest single “Super Freaky Girl.”

“Super Freaky Girl” fittingly samples Rick James’ 1981 hit “Super Freak.” “Super Freaky Girl” marks the rapper’s first release since “We Go Up” with Fivio Foreign, which was released back in March. Earlier this year, the Queens rapper dropped two singles with Lil Baby “Do We Have A Problem?” and “Bussin.” She was also featured on Coi Leray’s “Blick Blick.”

Earlier this week, VMAs announced that the Pink Friday creator will be receiving the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Music Award at this year’s ceremony. She will be also performing for the first time at the award show since 2018 and is up for one VMA for “Best Hip-Hop” for “Do We Have A Problem?” The 2022 VMAs will be broadcasting live on Aug. 28 on MTV and the CW, in addition to BET, BET Her, CMT, Comedy Central, Logo, MTV2, Nickelodeon, Paramount Network, Pop, TVLand, and VH1.

Listen to “Super Freaky Girl” and look at fan reactions below:

  • 1.

  • 2.

  • 3.

  • 4.

  • 5.

  • 6.

  • 7.

  • 8.

  • 9.

  • 10.

  • 11.

  • 12.

  • 13.

  • 14.

  • 15.

Sign me up for the V101.9 email newsletter!

Get the latest updates with music news, contests, events, and more when you become a V 101.9 VIP Member. Exclusive access to all things music and soul with your favorite throwback station.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.