The Francene Marie Show

Saturdays 5:00 am - 6:00 am

The eviction process in NC in 2023 follows a structured path

North Carolina law allows landlords to demand up to $15 or 5% of the rent increase, whichever is greater. You’ll also have late fees that accrue and the more documentation the renter has, the better. North Carolina law says that landlords must keep your residence fit and safe. It also says that you,
the tenant, must pay your rent, keep your home clean, and not damage your home. To make the law work, both the tenant and the landlord must do their part. In the tenant’s defense, there are several claims that can be brought against a landlord in court. These claims may be brought when the landlord tries to evict a tenant, and some can be brought as a separate action. See the list below to know more.

This list reflects a breach of obligations by the Landlord.
You must show that the landlord failed to:
Comply with building or housing codes
Maintain the premises in a fit and habitable condition
Keep all common areas in a safe condition
Maintain all facilities and appliances supplied in good and safe working order
Provide and maintain working smoke detectors
Comply with another federal, state, and or  local housing law
You must also give notice to the landlord. It can be oral for everything but plumbing or electrical problems that are not emergencies and defective smoke detectors.

To learn more visit the official site.

First African American, one-woman syndicated radio host in the Southeast region for major broadcast networks. Over the past 23 years my passion and perseverance has lead me to reach and relate to demographics spanning, Sports stations, Country, Hip-hop, R & B, Gospel, Adult Contemporary & Top 40 radio stations. I have a unique way of setting the tone, and people feel comfortable telling their story,